The history

Studio MTX forms part of the Montex haute couture embroidery atelier, which joined the CHANEL Maisons d’Art in 2011. It was founded in 2013 to introduce embroidery to a new area of expression: interior design. Studio MTX brings a fresh interpretation to embroidery, expanding its boundaries and constantly redefining its scope. At once design studio and production workshop, the atelier conceives, creates and presents new materials to interior decorators and architects. A unique combination of techniques from various areas of applied arts – embroidery, weaving, tapestry and leather goods – imbues these materials with their distinctive originality. Studio MTX designs are applied to furniture or adapted to architecture. Functional and decorative in equal measure, they enhance the architectural project in a myriad ways: by dividing up the space, guiding the gaze, punctuating volumes and adorning surfaces.


Studio MTX moved to the 19M building in March 2021.

Art direction

Trained at ENSCI-Les Ateliers, Mathieu Bassée started his career at Hermès as a leather goods designer. While working on bags and luggage ranges, he was also entrusted with interior design projects for the Manufacture nationale de Sèvres, the Design Project Room in Geneva – which allowed him to collaborate with Pierre Hardy and Superstudio – and the Issey Miyake boutique in Paris. With great admiration for handmade work and a fascination for modular, geometric designs, he joined Studio MTX in 2013 as head of art direction and development.

The Studio MTX team gathers together all the necessary skills to carry out a project from start to finish: design, sourcing materials, engineering, 3D modelling, prototyping, production and installation. For more information, please contact our commercial : Anne-Sophie Latil

L'histoire

Rattaché à l’atelier de broderie Haute Couture Montex qui a rejoint les Maisons d’Art de CHANEL en 2011, le Studio MTX a été créé en 2013 pour donner à la broderie un nouveau terrain d’expression : l’architecture intérieure. Studio MTX propose une interprétation de la broderie qui en repousse les limites et la redéfinit en permanence. A la fois bureau de création et atelier de production, le studio imagine, réalise et propose aux décorateurs et aux architectes d’intérieur des matières inédites, nées de la combinaison unique de techniques qui empruntent à différents champs des arts appliqués parmi lesquels la broderie, le tissage, la tapisserie ou encore la maroquinerie. Les créations de Studio MTX s’intègrent à l’échelle du mobilier ou se déploient à celle de l’architecture. A la fois fonctionnelles et décoratives, elles accompagnent le projet architectural de bien des manières : elles compartiment l’espace, filtrent le regard, rythment les volumes, habillent les surfaces…

 

Le Studio MTX s’est installé au 19M en mars 2021.

La direction artistique

Formé à l’ENSCI-Les Ateliers, Mathieu Bassée a démarré sa carrière chez Hermès en tant que designer au département maroquinerie. En parallèle des projets de sacs et de bagages qui lui sont confiés, il conçoit des scénographies pour des commanditaires variés comme la Manufacture de Sèvres, la Design Project Room de Genève qui lui permet notamment de collaborer avec Pierre Hardy et Superstudio ou encore la boutique parisienne d’Issey Miyake. Admiratif du travail de la main et fasciné par les constructions modulaires et géométriques, il rejoint le Studio MTX en 2013 pour en assurer la direction artistique et le développement. 

L’équipe de Studio MTX intègre et fédère toutes les compétences nécessaires à l’accompagnement de l’ensemble d’un projet : création, recherche de matières, ingénierie de conception, modélisation 3D, maquettage et prototypage, production et installation. Pour tout renseignement sur notre offre, vous pouvez contacter notre agent commercial Anne-Sophie Latil