A renowned, coveted and admired house since 1894, Massaro has a diverse savoir-faire encompassing several arts and artisanal crafts – many of which are not widely known. Each one requires patience, mastery and experience developed over many years; their discovery is key to understanding the many steps involved in the creation of exceptional shoes.

Shoemaking expertise

Operating since March 2021 in the heart of le19M building, Massaro sets the standard in bespoke shoes. 
The founder's grandson, Raymond Massaro, continued the family tradition and asserted a creative style that captivated Gabrielle Chanel. The shoemaker crafted a two-tone, low-heel slingback for her in 1957, at a time when vertiginous stiletto heels were in vogue. The cream leather lengthens the leg with a discreet trompe-l’oeil effect, whereas the black satin toe makes the foot appear smaller: an icon of elegance was born. The shoe sealed the partnership between Massaro and CHANEL, which continues to this day.

A tradition of excellence

Collaborating regularly with leading couturiers, Maison Massaro accessorises their looks at fashion shows. In the shoemaker's ateliers, the artisans (block maker, cutter, stitcher and fitter) work both on couture designs for leading fashion houses and designers from all corners of the globe, and on bespoke designs for private clients (men and women alike). They are always eager to explore new techniques to push the boundaries of their art.

Reconnu, recherché et apprécié depuis 1894, le savoir-faire des ateliers Massaro convoque plusieurs arts et artisanats, souvent méconnus. Chacun exige patience, maîtrise et expérience nourries au fil du temps; leur découverte permet de suivre, pas à pas, la création d'un soulier d'exception.

Le Savoir Faire

Oeuvrant depuis ses ateliers de la rue de la Paix, Massaro s’impose comme une référence de la chaussure sur mesures. 
Petit fils du fondateur, Raymond Massaro poursuit la tradition familiale et impose un style créatif qui séduit Gabrielle Chanel. Pour elle, le bottier réalise en 1957 le soulier deux-tons à petits talons (en pleine vogue du Stiletto vertigineux). Son cuir crème allonge la jambe par un discret effet de trompe l’oeil tandis que son bout gainé de satin noir fait paraitre le pied plus petit: une icône de l’élégance et née. Elle scelle les relations entre Massaro et la Maison CHANEL qui continuent depuis d’associer leurs talents.

Une tradition d’excellence

Collaborateur attitré des grands couturiers, la Maison Massaro accessoirise les silhouettes de leurs défilés. Dans les ateliers du bottier, les artisans (formier, coupeur, piqueur et ouvriers de pied) se partagent désormais entre les créations couture pour de grandes maisons et des designers venus du monde entier et le sur mesure destinée à une clientèle particulière aussi bien féminine que masculine, n’hésitant jamais à explorer de nouvelles techniques pour repousser les limites de leur art.