Since 1936, Maison Michel has relied on unique artisanal savoir-faire and exclusive fashion expertise to craft hats and decorative headpieces.

 

The Maison’s work is showcased in the ready-to-wear and haute couture collections of leading fashion houses. Since 2006, it also distributes its own collections under the Maison Michel brand.
Attention to detail, a discerning choice of materials, original shapes and the unique style of each piece set Maison Michel designs apart.

Savoir-Faire

Maison Michel has been cultivating the art of hat-making since 1936. In its ateliers, hatters and milliners craft hats and headpieces by hand on the 3,000 linden wood blocks amassed over time. Vital to the most inventive designs and the ongoing renewal of existing models, these blocks constitute an exceptional heritage that is enriched every day. In the hat-making trade, expert hands are hard at work to the soundtrack of steamers, pampering brushes, stitching machines, and the hitting of hammers. Milliners take over once the hat has been shaped, tasked with enhancing and embellishing the piece. Meticulous and dexterous workers, milliners master many techniques: creating the right fabric tension, draping a turban and straw stitching. A combination of infinitely precise gestures carried out according to the finest hat-making tradition passed down from generation to generation.

Art direction

Priscilla Royer has served as Art Director for Maison Michel since 2015.

After training at Studio Berçot in Paris, she started her career alongside Vivienne Westwood and headed the Red Label line in London for five years. Back in Paris, she co-founded the “Pièce d’Anarchive” brand, which received the ANDAM First Collections Award in 2012.

Shortly thereafter, she became Art Director at Maison Michel.

For each collection, she taps into traditional expertise and transforms the atelier into a creative hub where multiple tests are conducted and innovative techniques developed, such as the rolling of supple straw and rain-resistant felt materials.

Since March 2021, Maison Michel is furthering its expertise in its new ateliers at le19M.

Depuis 1936, Maison Michel s’appuie sur un savoir-faire artisanal unique et une expertise mode exclusive pour proposer des chapeaux et accessoires de tête.


Elle confectionne pour les plus grandes Maisons des pièces destinées aux collections de prêt à porter et de Haute Couture et depuis 2006, créée et distribue ses propres collections sous la marque Maison Michel.
L’attention portée aux détails, le choix des matériaux, les formes originales et le style singulier de chaque modèle distinguent les créations Maison Michel.

Savoir-Faire

Maison Michel cultive l’art de la chapellerie depuis 1936. Dans ses ateliers, les chapeliers et les modistes façonnent à la main les chapeaux et accessoires de têtes sur les 3 000 formes de bois de tilleul accumulées au fil du temps. Patrimoine exceptionnel enrichit en permanence, ces formes en bois permettent les créations les plus inventives et un renouvellement constant des modèles. Dans la chapellerie, les mains expertes s’affairent au son de la cloche à vapeur, des brosses qui bichonnent, des machines qui piquent, et des marteaux qui cognent. Une fois le chapeau formé, les modistes prennent le relais et s'appliquent à le sublimer et le garnir. Les modistes, minutieuses et habiles, maîtrisent de nombreuses techniques, comme le tendu de tissus, le drapé de turban ou encore la technique de la paille cousue. Une combinaison de gestes d’une infinie précision effectués dans la plus pure tradition chapelière perpétués de génération en génération.

Direction Artistique

Priscilla Royer est directrice artistique de Maison Michel depuis 2015.

A l’issue de sa formation au Studio Berçot à Paris, elle débute sa carrière auprès de Vivienne Westwood et prend la direction de la ligne Red Label à Londres durant 5 ans. De retour à Paris, elle co-fonde la marque « Pièce D’Anarchive » distingué par le prix des premières collections de l’ANDAM en 2012.

Peu de temps après, elle prend la direction artistique de Maison Michel.

Pour chaque collection, elle s’empare des savoir-faire d’hier et transforme l’atelier en laboratoire créatif, multiplie les tests, et développe des techniques novatrices, comme celles des pailles souples qui se roulent ou des feutres qui résistent à la pluie.

La Maison Michel développe ses savoir-faire dans ses nouveaux ateliers du 19M depuis mars 2021.