Atelier Montex constantly seeks out new materials and innovative techniques to express and develop its unique savoir-faire.

 

Their expertise encompasses embroidery by needle, by Lunéville crochet and by Cornely machine in an ever-evolving interplay between tradition and innovation. The Maison’s approach to the Métiers d’art is one of continued renewal: the artisan's inimitable technique does not shy away from new technologies. On the contrary, these expand the creative possibilities to fully express an artistic vision.
Montex applies its expertise to luxury ready-to-wear and haute couture collections. Today, it is also expanding into decorative and ornamental crafts.

History of Atelier Montex

Founded in Paris by Mr Lemonier in 1939, Atelier Montex initially crafted embroidered fabrics sold by the metre – an activity that continued into the early 2000s. The Maison supplied fabrics to hundreds of small fashion houses, which used them to craft garments for private clients in France and abroad. From 1969, Atelier Montex developed its handmade embroidery activity – working by needle, by Lunéville crochet and by Cornely machine. This would become the atelier’s core business.
Annie Trussart joined the Maison in the early 1980s, marking a key turning point in their history. Her innovative perspective was replete with eclectic inspirations. Her vision tapped into traditional expertise while daring to elevate classic materials with a quirky twist. This music and architecture aficionado loved to combine various influences and developed the expressive potential of embroidery – gradually shaping the identity of Atelier Montex.

Montex became a familiar name to luxury couturiers and built key partnerships with the leading names in fashion during the 90s: Yves Saint Laurent, Chloé and Dior, in particular.
In 2011, Montex joined the group of artisanal houses making up Chanel's Métiers d’Arts. In 2013, it was named Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant (a living heritage company).
Eager to expand the boundaries of embroidery, Annie Trussart created a department dedicated to interior design, pioneering architectural embroidery: Studio MTX

 

In 2017, Aska Yamashita, Annie Trussart's assistant and accomplice for more than 20 years, was appointed Art Director of Atelier Montex. She is building on the Maison’s creative history by introducing new influences and conducting her own research, which is always underpinned by the most stringent technical quality standards. The 50-strong team brings together a diverse skill set, from experienced artisans to young apprentices learning the ropes of embroidery.

 

In March 2021, Atelier Montex moved to the 19M building.

Aska Yamashita, Art Director

Born in 1973, Aska Yamashita started her art career by training as an illustrator. As part of her studies, she completed an internship at Atelier Montex in 1989, where she trained in embroidery techniques. This is where she met Annie Trussart, Montex Art Director at the time – a turning point in the Maison's history. Together, they set Atelier Montex on a path of tremendous growth.

Aska Yamashita nurtures an unwavering passion for embroidery and its many techniques, which she loves to explore and push to new heights as a way of furthering this unique expertise and merging it with eclectic creativity. 

After Annie Trussart founded Studio MTX with a focus on interior design in 2013, Aska Yamashita launched decorative embroidery projects in 2019, in addition to her collaboration with the fashion studios. These projects offered a springboard for Atelier Montex to interact with a great diversity of areas, ranging from gourmet cuisine to fine jewellery.

Par sa recherche de matières nouvelles et de techniques innovantes, l’Atelier Montex s’attache à faire vivre et évoluer ses savoir-faire.


La broderie à l’aiguille, au crochet de Lunéville et à la machine Cornely constituent la base d’un langage textile, en perpétuel mouvement entre tradition et innovation. Une approche des métiers d’art comme celle d’un renouvellement permanent : l’irremplaçable geste de l’artisan ne craint pas de s’allier à de nouvelles technologies, permettant d’enrichir les possibilités créatives pour donner vie à l’expression d’une vision artistique.
La maison Montex propose ses savoir-faire aux domaines du prêt-à-porter de luxe et de la Haute-Couture, et développe aujourd’hui son activité pour des projets décoratifs et ornementaux.

Histoire de l'atelier

Fondée en 1949 à Paris par Monsieur Lemonier, l’Atelier Montex démarre une activité de tissus brodés au mètre, qu’elle maintiendra jusqu’au début des années 2000. Elle fournit aux centaines de petites maisons de couture les tissus qui leur permettent de confectionner des modèles pour des clientes particulières en France et à l’étranger. A partir de 1969 se développent les activités de broderie main, au crochet de Lunéville et à la machine Cornely, qui deviendront le cœur de métier de l’atelier.
Au début des années 80, l’arrivée d’Annie Trussart marque un tournant décisif dans l’histoire de la maison. Apportant un regard novateur nourri d’inspirations éclectiques, elle adapte sa vision au vocabulaire d’un savoir-faire historique, en osant le mélange de fournitures classiques et décalées. Également passionnée de musique et d’architecture, elle cultive le mélange des influences et ouvre les potentialités expressives de la broderie, façonnant petit à petit l’identité de l’Atelier Montex.

Montex se fait alors connaître des couturiers du luxe et travaille avec les plus grands noms de la Mode, Yves Saint Laurent, Chloé et Dior entre autres, devenant ainsi l’un de leurs partenaires privilégiés dans les années 90.
La maison Montex rejoint en 2011 le groupe des Métiers d’Art de CHANEL. Elle est nommée entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant en 2013.
Désirant repousser les limites de la broderie, Annie Trussart a créé un département dédié à l’architecture intérieure, initiant une approche inédite de Broderie Architecturale : le Studio MTX.

En 2017, Aska Yamashita, assistante et complice d’Annie Trussart pendant plus de vingt ans, est nommée Directrice Artistique de l’Atelier Montex. Elle poursuit son histoire créative en apportant de nouvelles influences et développant ses propres recherches toujours encadrées par une très haute exigence de qualité technique. Comptant aujourd’hui 50 personnes, l’atelier réunit une équipe aux profils variés, composée d’artisans expérimentés comme de jeunes apprentis se formant aux métiers de la broderie.

L’Atelier Montex a emménagé en mars 2021 sur le site du 19M.

Aska Yamashita, directrique artistique

Née en 1973, Aska Yamashita débute sa carrière artistique par une formation de dessinatrice. A l’occasion d’un stage d’études, elle pousse la porte de l’Atelier Montex en 1989, où elle se forme aux techniques du monde de la broderie. Sa rencontre avec Annie Trussart, alors Directrice Artistique de l’atelier, est déterminante dans l’évolution de l’histoire de la Maison. Leur binôme accompagnera le formidable développement de l’Atelier Montex.

Aska Yamashita nourrit une immuable passion pour la broderie et ses différentes techniques dont elle se plaît à explorer et repousser les limites, pour permettre à ces savoir-faire d’évoluer et de s’inscrire dans une création éclectique. 

Après la création par Annie Trussart du Studio MTX pour l’architecture d’intérieur en 2013, Aska Yamashita initie en 2019, en parallèle de sa collaboration avec les studios de Mode, des projets de broderie décorative qui permettent à l’Atelier Montex de dialoguer avec des univers aussi différents que ceux de la Haute Gastronomie ou de la Joaillerie.