la Galerie du 19M Dakar

opens to the public on Thursday 12 January 2023

 

Following the fashion show of the CHANEL Métiers d’art 2022/23 collection, presented on 6 December 2022 in Dakar, Senegal, le19M is taking a new step by launching its first international programme there. While the influence of Dakaris recognized on the international cultural and creative scene, the entire country of Senegal is replete with artisanal expertise, a heritage to which le19M is particularly sensitive. Thus, from Thursday 12 January 2023 and for several months, le19M is setting up an off-site gallery in Dakar with the help of the Institut fondamental d’Afrique noire (IFAN) on the site of the Musée Théodore-Monod d’art africain.

Free and open to all, la Galerie du 19M Dakar celebrates the richness and diversity of embroidery and weaving crafts. Entitled Sur le fil (On the thread), its programme is woven from the thread of a story that combines these two crafts with other artistic disciplines such as painting, photography, or installation, showcasing the creative wealth of Senegal and the humanistic values of its arts and crafts. Betweencontemporary creation and traditional savoir-faire, it consists of a collective exhibition, a programme of talks, events, and participative workshops.

In the exhibition, works and installations across different media, created by numerous contemporary artists working with textiles —some of them in collaboration with le19M’s Maisons d’art— are presented in dialogue with heritage pieces from the collections of the Musée Théodore-Monod d’art africain. Alongside these exhibits, dozens of craftsmen are producing new works in situ, before the audience, and leading participatory workshops led by guest artists in residence.

The aim of la Galerie du 19M Dakar is to showcase priceless artisanal skills to the broadest possible audience, to reassert the value of handicrafts, to encouragetheir dissemination, and to spark vocations among the general public, school-children, students, families, and lovers of craft. The gallery’s programme was conceived by an editorial committee composed of Senegalese creative figures or experts of its artistic scene. This committee is also accompanied by artistic contributors.

the Cultural programmer Riad Fakhri
the Curator Olivia Marsaud
the Curator El Hadji Malick Ndiaye
the Designer and filmmaker Selly Raby Kane
the Graphic designer Audrey d’Erneville
the Designer Bibi Seck
the Architect Mamy Tall
1/7

the Cultural programmer Riad Fakhri

2/7

the Curator Olivia Marsaud

3/7

the Curator El Hadji Malick Ndiaye

4/7

the Designer and filmmaker Selly Raby Kane

5/7

the Graphic designer Audrey d’Erneville

6/7

the Designer Bibi Seck

7/7

the Architect Mamy Tall

 

 

la Galerie du 19M Dakar is the guest of honour of the 11th edition of Partcours, an annual cultural event that brings together 30 spaces of both art and craft in Dakar during the first two weeks of December. Created in 2012 by RAW Material Company and Atelier Céramiques Almadies, Partcours is a synergistic event which brings together gallery owners, artists, and the public, inviting them to discover Dakar’s different districts in a new light.

 

"This 11th edition is undoubtedly one of the most accomplished we have had in the course of our long journey: each space has demonstrated a deep artistic commitment, contributing to the maturity of the event. In this spirit, we are delighted to welcome la Galerie du 19M Dakar into our circle of friends. We are convinced that its vitality will bring a newenerg y to the event’s structure in the long term."

Mauro Petroni, initiator and coordinator of the Partcours

The new works and collaborations will later be exhibited at la Galerie du 19M in Paris/Aubervilliers in 2023. This reactivation will give the modules shown in Dakar the opportunity to be presented to the public of Greater Paris and Seine-Saint-Denis thereby continuing to weave a creative dialogue across borders.

 

"The launch of la Galerie du 19M Dakar coincides, almost to the day, withthe first anniversary of the inauguration of la Galerie du 19M in Paris /Aubervilliers and its opening to the public. This first international programme speaks to the renewed interest of professionals in fashion savoir-faire—supported for nearly forty years by CHANEL—as well as to a new popular fervour for handicrafts. Over the course of 24 weeks, we welcomed nearly 20,000 visitors, which is an achievement for subjectsthat are often little-known and a venue which is only beginning to find its audience. We are grateful to the IFAN Musée Théodore-Monod and to the Senegalese authorities for welcoming us here, in the heart of the Plateau district of Dakar, to celebrate the creative dialogue between embroidery, weaving, and contemporary creation."

 

Bruno Pavlovsky, President of CHANEL SAS and President of le19M

Installation of

la Galerie du 19M Dakar

December 2022

Exhibition installation

Early January, 2023

Opening to the public in Dakar

12 January to 31 March, 2023

Opening to the public in Paris

May to July, 2023

la Galerie du 19M Dakar

ouvre au public jeudi 12 janvier 2023

 

À la suite du défilé de la collection Métiers d’art 2022/23 de la Maison CHANEL, présenté le 6 décembre 2022 à Dakar, au Sénégal, le19M franchit une nouvelle étape en y inaugurant son premier programme international. Si Dakar est influente sur la scène culturelle et créative mondiale, le Sénégal tout entier est une terre de savoir-faire auxquels le19M ne peut qu’être particulièrement sensible. Ainsi, à partir de jeudi 12 janvier 2023 et pour plusieurs mois, le19M installe à Dakar une galerie hors les murs avec le concours de l’Institut fondamental d’Afrique noire (IFAN) sur le site du musée Théodore-Monod d’art africain.

Gratuite et ouverte à tous, la Galerie du 19M Dakar célèbre la richesse et la diversité des métiers de la broderie et du tissage. Intitulée Sur le fil, sa programmation tisse le fil d’un récit qui croise ces deux artisanats à d’autres disciplines artistiques comme la peinture, la photographie ou l’installation, et fait rayonner la richesse créative du Sénégal et les valeurs humanistes de son artisanat d’art. Entre création contemporaine et savoir-faire traditionnels, ce programme est composé d’une exposition collective, d’un programme de discussions, d’événements et d’ateliers participatifs.

Dans l’exposition, les oeuvres et les installations de tous médiums, réalisées par de nombreux artistes contemporains travaillant sur le textile, certains en collaboration avec des Maisons d’art du 19M, dialoguent avec des oeuvres anciennes issues des collections du musée Théodore-Monod d’art africain. En parallèle, des dizaines d’artisans d’art produisent des oeuvres inédites in situ, sous les yeux du public, et animent des ateliers participatifs menés par des artistes invités en résidence.

la Galerie du 19M Dakar a pour mission de faire connaître à tous les savoir-faire artisanaux inestimables, de contribuer à revaloriser les métiers de la main, de favoriser leur transmission et de susciter des vocations auprès du grand public, scolaires, étudiants, familles et amoureux d’artisanat. Sa programmation a été conçue par un comité éditorial composé de personnalités créatives sénégalaises ou expertes de sa scène artistique. Ce comité est aussi accompagné d’intervenants artistiques.

le Programmateur Riad Fakhri
la Curatrice Olivia Marsaud
le Curateur El Hadji Malick Ndiaye
la Designeuse et cinéaste Selly Raby Kane
la Graphiste Audrey d’Erneville
le Designer Bibi Seck
l’Architecte Mamy Tall
1/7

le Programmateur Riad Fakhri

2/7

la Curatrice Olivia Marsaud

3/7

le Curateur El Hadji Malick Ndiaye

4/7

la Designeuse et cinéaste Selly Raby Kane

5/7

la Graphiste Audrey d’Erneville

6/7

le Designer Bibi Seck

7/7

l’Architecte Mamy Tall

 

 

la Galerie du 19M Dakar est l’invitée d’honneur de la 11e édition de Partcours, une manifestation culturelle annuelle qui réunit 30 espaces d’art et de savoir à Dakar pendant les 15 premiers jours du mois de décembre. Créé en 2012 par RAW Material Company et l’Atelier Céramiques Almadies, Partcours est un moment de synergie et de partage entre les galeristes, les artistes et le public qui invite à découvrir autrement les quartiers de Dakar.

 

« Cette 11e édition est sans doute l’une des plus accomplies que nous ayons eue dans notre long voyage : chaque espace a produit un engagement artistique important vers la maturité de l’événement. Dans cet élan, nous recevons dans le cercle de nos amis la Galerie du 19M Dakar. Nous sommes convaincus que sa vitalité pourra apporter durablement une nouvelle énergie dans l’architecture de la manifestation. »

Mauro Petroni, créateur et coordinateur du Partcours

Les oeuvres et les collaborations inédites seront exposées dans un second temps à la Galerie du 19M à Paris/Aubervilliers, dans le courant de l’année 2023. Cette réactivation donnera aux modules montrés à Dakar l’opportunité de rencontrer le public du Grand Paris et de la Seine-Saint-Denis et continuera à tisser le dialogue créatif par-delà les frontières.

 

« Le lancement de la Galerie du 19M Dakar coïncide, presque jour pour jour, avec le premier anniversaire de l’inauguration de la Galerie du 19M à Paris/Aubervilliers et de son ouverture au public. Ce premier programme international témoigne autant d’un regain d’intérêt des professionnels pour les savoir-faire de la mode – défendus depuis près de quarante ans par la Maison CHANEL – que d’un nouvel engouement populaire pour les métiers de la main et du geste. Sur vingt-quatre semaines d’exploitation, nous avons ainsi reçu près de 20 000 visiteurs, ce qui est une gageure sur des sujets souvent méconnus et un territoire encore mal identifié. Nous sommes reconnaissants au musée Théodore-Monod d’art africain et aux administrations sénégalaises de nous accueillir ici, en plein coeur du quartier du Plateau, à Dakar, pour célébrer les dialogues créatifs entre broderie, tissage et création contemporaine. »

 

Bruno Pavlovsky, président de CHANEL SAS et président du 19M

Aménagement de

la Galerie du 19M Dakar

Décembre 2022

Montage de l'exposition

Début janvier 2023

Ouverture au public à Dakar

Du 12 janvier au 31 mars 2023

Ouverture au public à Paris

De mai à juillet 2023